加文 & 特克
Gavin & Turk

2012年02月10日 - 04月20日
2012年02月10日 - 04月20日 伦敦

正如所有的艺术家般,加文‧特克的名字便是他的品牌,而他这次以他分裂的名字为题的展览,特克把他的名字转变为一个家族品牌。纵观25年来的的艺术作品,特克一直讨论著作者身份、身份认同和手工制作三个课题,这次最新的展览也不例外。然而这次,他选择向一个活跃于六十至七十年代非常杰出的意大利概念艺术家阿里基罗‧波艾提(Alighiero Beotti)致敬。波艾提现在是泰特现代艺术馆由2012年2月28日至5月27日回顾展的主题。

 

波艾提对符号非常入迷,并创造出世界地图刺绣,每个国家的板块覆盖着她的国旗。借着他的原作:Mappas-由波艾提的朋友兼合作伙伴纳尔多‧罗西(Rinaldo Rossi)所提出的原型和阿富汗喀布尔一队女手艺师所编制的刺绣而成,他视自己为编制者,多于执行者。

 

就像波艾提,特克与一队制作团队合作,合力创作他最新的刺绣作品。该设计工作将交给一个为支持在囚人士更生发展而教导囚犯针线活的慈善兼社会企业Fine Cell Work的成员。特克指出,「我认为绣帷最有趣的地方在于图像如何慢慢从画框中浮现出来。」他又补充,「这是非常热切期待的。你得去接近、远离,再接近、远离它;它就像影像般需要慢慢解读它。」

Gavin & Turk

10 February - 20 April 2012
10 Feb - 20 Apr 2012 London

Like all artists, Gavin Turk's name is his brand and in the schizophrenic title for this show, he turns it into a family brand.   Throughout 25 years of artwork, Turk has questioned authorship, identity and the handmade.  This new exhibition is no exception, but here, he chooses to pay homage to Alighiero Boetti, an Italian conceptual artist prominent in the sixties and seventies, who is the subject of a Tate Modern retrospective, running 28 February - 27 May 2012. 

 

Boetti was fascinated by symbols and created embroideries of the world map, with each country made from its own flag.  He saw his role as orchestrator, rather than executer of a work, with his original Mappas based on a schema by friend and collaborator Rinaldo Rossi and embroidered by a team of craftswomen in Kabul, Aghanistan.

 

Like Boetti, Turk is collaborating with a production team to create his latest embroideries.  The designs will be worked up by members of Fine Cell Work, a charity and social enterprise that teaches needlework to prison inmates, in order to support the rehabilitation process.  "I think one of the interesting things about tapestry is how slowly the picture comes out of the picture frame," says Turk.  "It's so intense. You have to go close and further away and close and further away; it's like the image slowly unweaving itself."