尤安•卡波特: 感性的物件
YOAN CAPOTE: Emotional Objects

2013年12月12日 - 2014年02月25日
2013年12月12日 - 2014年02月25日 倫敦

Ben Brown畫廊很榮幸能舉辦古巴藝術家尤安•卡波特在倫敦的首屆個人展“Emotional Objects” (感性的物件)。卡波特在蓬勃發展的古巴藝術界中是一位重要的人物。 他利用了很多不同的媒體創造出心理共振的雕塑。 他的作品涉及多種不同的主題, 如人的情緒 (隔離、焦慮、慾望、幽閉恐懼症、強迫症)、文化身分、移民、政治和經濟。

 

卡波特的作品明確告知他在一個政治動盪和孤立的古巴中成長和生活的經歷。 儘管他的作品背後有著深澳的含義, 它們的外觀卻帶著諷刺的嬉鬧, 使人聯想起超現實主義者對“矛盾"這個主題的興趣。 他的作品表面上意味著幽默,但其實他們是在表達更複雜的問題, 例如,Will of Power (意志力)- 一個在搖盪的階梯、 Secreto (Mucho por decir) 揭秘(不多說了)-兩個被隔音玻璃管連接的耳形橡膠模具、Romance 浪漫 – 一雙連體的雨傘和Casados 結婚了 -被合併的一雙青銅鑄造鞋子 (這對鞋子曾經被一對新婚的收藏家穿:  Dasha Zukova 和 Roman Abramovich)。 

 

Isla (La Espera) 伊斯拉(等待)是一張由釘器,魚鉤和油畫所創造出的圖畫。它是關於卡波特在政治孤島的成長經歷。當時, 他很期望能認識美國和世界各地。從遠看,作品看起來是一個寧靜和良性的海景,但仔細看就會看到一張帶不祥預感的圖像,意味著危險和不可入性。卡波特的另一個作品Migrants (移民) 是一雙似乎從地上拔起的樹木(由青銅鑄造),尾端人格化成一雙人腳,徒勞地躺在地上。這隱喻遷移經驗的生理和心理衝突。 

該展覽還會包括一個特地為展覽做的鋼做安裝藝術Lacerante (Mi Silencio) 割裂(我的沉默)和卡波特滿有概念的照片。

YOAN CAPOTE: Emotional Objects

12 December 2013 - 25 February 2014
12 Dec 2013 - 25 Feb 2014 London

Ben Brown Fine Arts is proud to present EMOTIONAL OBJECTS - the Cuban artist Yoan Capote's inaugural solo exhibition in London. A leading figure of the burgeoning Cuban art scene, Capote creates psychologically resonant sculptural works in a myriad of media that address a multiplicity of themes - ranging from those of the human condition (isolation, anxiety, desire, claustrophobia, obsession) to cultural identity, migration, politics and the economy.  

 

While Capote's works are clearly informed by his experiences growing up and living in a politically turbulent and isolated nation, there is a universal dialogue to them that transcends the autobiographical.  Despite the serious implications behind his work, there is sardonic playfulness in their presentation, recalling the Surrealists and their interest in the paradoxical.  From Will of Power, a monumental ladder affixed to a rocking chair base; to Secreto (Mucho por decir), two rubber molds of ears connected by a soundproof glass tube; to Romance, conjoined umbrellas; and Casados, bronze cast shoes that literally meld into one another, his work promotes immediate humorous associations that go on to reveal more complex issues. 

 

Isla (La Espera) is a sculptural painting fastidiously fashioned from nails, fishhooks and oil paint based on Capote's childhood memories of growing up on a politically isolated island, longing to know the United States and beyond.  What initially registers as a serene, benign seascape turns into a powerful, foreboding image connoting danger and impenetrability as the materiality of the piece is explored.  Migrants consists of two slender cast bronze trees that are seemingly uprooted from the earth as they anthropomorphize into human feet that lie futilely on the ground, serving as a metaphor for the physical and psychological conflicts associated with the experience of migration. 

 

The exhibition will also include a steel installation realized exclusively for this show, entitled Lacerante (Mi Silencio), as well as examples of Capote's highly conceptual photographic work.