康迪達•赫弗
CANDIDA HÖFER: Villa Borghese

2014年06月25日 - 10月3日
2014年06月25日 - 10月3日 倫敦

Ben Brown 畫廊很榮幸能在6月2日展出康迪達•赫弗的作品系列 “Villa Borghese” (貝佳斯別墅)。赫弗的個展 “Libraries” (圖書館) 是在Ben Brown畫廊2004年的首屆展。在畫廊進入第10個年頭,赫弗的回歸對Ben Brown帶來特殊的意義。

 

“貝佳斯別墅"是在2012年由Galleria Borghese (貝佳斯畫廊) 委託的。他們請赫弗做這系列作品是為了他們的Committenze Contemporanee(當代項目)。赫弗的照片抓住了貝佳斯別墅建築的輝煌和歷史。照片顯示了在藍色牆腳高挂的雕像於畫廊的重大意義。這些雕像原本是由畫廊擁有的,之後又出售給法國收藏家。如今,它們是屬於盧浮宮。盧浮宮把雕像借給貝佳斯別墅, 而赫弗就拍下了雕塑在原位的影像。

 

赫弗用了自然光和長時間曝光去拍下別墅的不同角落,她並沒進行編輯。照片邀請觀眾與重要、雄偉和不朽的雕像有親密接觸。這作品系列也表達了藝術家對周圍環境的敏感度。

 

這次展覽還會包括Ben Brown 畫廊當時在2004年展出過,來自赫弗的作品。

CANDIDA HÖFER: Villa Borghese

25 June - 3 October 2014
25 Jun - 3 Oct 2014 London

Ben Brown Fine Arts is proud to present Candida Höfer's Villa Borghese series on 25 June. Höfer's Libraries was the inaugural exhibition at Ben Brown Fine Arts' Cork Street space in 2004. Now celebrating its 10th year, her return for Villa Borghese holds special significance for the gallery.

 

Commissioned by the Galleria Borghese in 2012 for their Committenze Contemporanee project, Höfer's series captures the institution's architectural splendour and history. The statues raised on blue plinths in each image form part of the Galleria's rich narrative. First owned by the Galleria, sold to French collectors, and then loaned back to the museum by the Louvre, they are here poignantly depicted in their original environment.

 

Produced using only natural light with a long exposure and untouched by digital alteration, Höfer's photographs couple a rare intimacy with monumentality of scale. Customarily devoid of human presence, yet resonating with the academic spirit of the institution's founder, Cardinal Scipione Borghese, the Villa Borghese series encapsulates Höfer's sensitivity to place.

 

These images will be complemented by a selection of iconic images from Ben Brown Fine Arts' 2004 exhibition, marking the longstanding representation of the artist and her ongoing fascination with institutional spaces.